Go to the top

First Edition of the Henrik Enderlein Prize

The Henrik Enderlein Prize, awarded for the first time this year, honours a social scientist under the age of forty who has made an outstanding contribution to their field of expertise.

Honouring the memory of Professor Henrik Enderlein, late president of the Hertie School and founding director of the Jacques Delors Centre, the prize rewards ideas that the Franco-German scientific community considers to be innovative and relevant in having initiated a new approach to European public policy-making. The prize is awarded annually.

The Henrik Enderlein Prize is awarded jointly by the French Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs, the German Federal Foreign Office, the Hertie School and Sciences Po and is also supported by the newspapers Les Echos and Handelsblatt.

This year, the Henrik Enderlein Prize was awarded to Stefanie Stantcheva, Professor of Political Economy at Harvard University, and Tarik Abou-Chadi, Associate Professor in European Union and Comparative Politics at Oxford University. The two scholars were chosen due to their outstanding contribution to the field of political science, with focuses on taxation and party transformation respectively. The awards ceremony took place at the French Ministry for Europe and Foreign affairs on the Quai d’Orsay in Paris in June 2022.